Top 10 Books Tag

Rules: In a text post, list 10 books that have stayed with you in some way. Don’t take but a few minutes, and don’t think too hard–they don’t have to be the “right” or “great” works, just the ones that have touched you…

So I saw this on Tumblr, and I’ve decided that I’m tagging myself. Reading other people’s lists is so fun! So nice to see which books end up affecting people’s lives. I thought I’d include one of my favourite quotes from each book as well, just because.

  1. To Kill A Mockingbird by Harper Lee

“It was times like these when I thought my father, who hated guns and had never been to any wars, was the bravest man who ever lived.”

2. Artemis Fowl (series) by Eoin Colfer

“’If I win, I’m a prodigy. If I lose then I’m mad. That’s the way history is written.’”

3. Mrs Dalloway by Virginia Woolf

“Mrs. Dalloway said she would buy the flowers herself.”

4. Wild Seed by Octavia E. Butler

“‘[They] Live or die as best they can,’ she said. ‘Everything truly alive dies sooner or later.'”

5. Looking for Alaska by John Green

“And POOF we are through the moment of her death. We are driving through the place that she could not drive through, passing onto asphalt she never saw, and we are not dead. We are not dead!”

6. The Castle of Otranto by Horace Walpole

“-but alas! my Lord, what is blood! what is nobility! We are all reptiles, miserable, sinful creatures. It is piety alone that can distinguish us from the dust whence we sprung, and whither we must return.”

7. 1984 by George Orwell

“Perhaps one did not want to be loved so much as to be understood.”

8. All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews

“Where does violence go, if not directly back into our blood and bones?”

9. The Hobbit by J.R.R. Tolkien

“If more of us valued food and cheer and song above hoarded gold, it would be a merrier world.”

10. The Perks of Being a Wallflower by Stephen Chbosky

“I am very interested and fascinated how everyone loves each other, but no one really likes each other.”

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

Leave a Reply

