Bookish Time Travel Tag

So thelibrarylizard created this new tag (brilliant!) and tagged me (thank you!) I love tags. Without further ado, the rules:

  • Answer as many of the questions as you can/want.
  • Tag other people – as many as you like. Share the love!
  • Please leave a link to this post/blog.
  • Tag the post as “Bookish Time Travel”.
  • Feel free to leave a link to your post in the comments!
  • Explore! Try and visit other people’s Bookish Time Travel posts and leave a comment.

The Questions:

1. What is your favourite historical setting for a book?victorian12

I’m such a cliché. The Victorian Era.

2. What writer/s would you like to travel back in time to meet?victorian123

I think hanging out with Jane Austen would be pretty fun. Remember how she wrote that one of her characters named Richard “had never done anything to entitle himself to more than the abbreviation of his name”? That’s my kind of girl.

the_hobbit_1937_cover1.png3. What book/s would you travel back in time and give to your younger self?

I really wish I had read The Hobbit when I was younger. Also, the Harry Potter series. I was a year or two short of the prime age to be reading the books as they came out, and I’ve always regretted that.

4. What book/s would you travel forward in time and give to your older self? (What book do you want to remind your older self of because it was really important to you?)

When/if I ever have kids, I really want to read them The Little Prince(Or, I will train my brother’s kids to love it. Yes, I will be that aunt)

5. What is your favourite futuristic setting from a book? E.g. Panem from The Hunger Games (said no one ever)

I feel like most of the futuristic books I like are dystopia, so this was a bit difficult. Oryx and Crake is one of my favourite not-so-futuristic books, so. Not that I would want to like live in it. It’s just really well done.

6georgeorwellxobeygiantprintset-1984coverbyshepardfairey. What is your favourite book that is set in a different time period (can be historical or fuuristic)?

1984– again, I wouldn’t want to actually live in Oceania, but I really appreciate the way George Orwell world-built that book, especially in terms of paralleling the fascism and propaganda that existed at the time he wrote it.

7. Spoiler Time: Do you ever skip ahead to the end of a book just to see what hapbookpagespens?

Sometimes if I’m really bored with a book I’ll skip ahead and check how many pages I have to go. Does that count?

8. If you had a Time Turner, where would you go and what would
you do?

This is going to sound so nerdy, but I would 100% channel my inner Hermione and take extra classes and read more. And I would probably try to live something like Tim from the About Time film.

9. Favourite book (if you have one) that includes time travel or Timemachinebooktakes place in multiple time periods?

The Time Machine will always be my favourite time travel story. The way it deals with classism, and that it’s early SF, and the writing. Just so great.

10. What book/series do you wish you could go back and read again for the first time?

The Night Circus, The Raven Cycle series, Parable of the Sower, The Infernal Devices…so many! There’s nothing like the little dips your stomach makes when you read a book for the first time and come across something unexpected.

This was so fun! I tag everyone. Ha.

Happy Saturday!

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

16 thoughts on “Bookish Time Travel Tag

Leave a Reply

