Intimidating TBR Tag

I saw this tag on thriceread the other day, and well, I suppose the time has come to acknowledge my colossal TBR pile on here, and what better way is there to do that than in a tag?

Also, a little disclaimer about my reading habits: I usually start reading more than one book at a time, which leads to many DNF’s that I end up putting back on my TBR list, which I know is a bad habit, but I just can’t help it!

So bear with me here:

1. A book on your TBR pile that you haven’t finished:

walden-final-webWalden by Henry David Thoreau

A friend of mine told me that I only really need to read the last chapter or so in orer to get all the references to Walden, but I just can’t do that. I have to read the entire thing, and the entire thing includes pages upon pages about measuring lakes and I just… *clenches fist* can’t.

 

 

 

2. A book you just haven’t had the time to read for:

Fahrenheit-451-2012-coverFahrenheit 451 by Ray Bradbury

Another recommendation from a friend – it’s one of those books I’ve always heard people talk about but I hadn’t read the synopsis until recently, and since then it’s been placed (metaphorically) higher on the TBR pile!

 

 

 

3. A book you haven’t read because it’s a sequel:

640

The Magician’s Land by Lev Grossman

I’ve been meaning to get into this series for a while now, but something else always seems to come up! It’s the third in its series, but I fell in love with this cover originally (the other two covers are equally beautiful!)

 

 

 

4. A book you haven’t read because it’s brand new:

rebel-of-the-sands

Rebel of the Sands by Alwyn Hamilton

This past March might not count as brand new (I’m still in denial that July is almost over), but this book’s still new enough that I’m waiting for it to either A. Come out in paperback, or B. Be acquired by my library.

 

 

 

5. A book by an author you read previously but didn’t really like:

md812658046Breakfast of Champions by Kurt Vonnegut

I don’t usually give authors whose writing I didn’t like a second chance, but I suppose Breakfast of Champions might count, as I wasn’t a huge fan of Slaughterhouse-Five (I liked it, but I had such high expectations for it that were kind of let down).

 

 

 

6. A book on your TBR pile that you’re just not in the mood to read:
a-clockwork-orange

A Clockwork Orange by Anthony Burgess

I feel like this is another book that everyone’s heard about, but few people have actually read. I’m unfortunately not a part of that few, and *cringes* I’m not sure I’ll ever be in the right mood to read it, even though I really want to.

 

 

 

7. A book on your TBR pile that you haven’t read because it’s enormous:

Infinite_jest_coverInfinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

A friend recommended I read Infinite Jest, and I genuinely want to, but it’s just so daunting. I’ve read the first chapter, but just couldn’t get into the writing, and even holding the book (1088 pages!) feels like a bit of a chore.

 

 

 

8. A book on your TBR you bought because of the cover:

9168276The Miniaturist by Jessie Burton

I’ve just never gotten around to this one, but the cover has always mesmerized me!

 

 

 

 

9. The book on your TBR you find the most intimidating:

1953A Tale of Two Cities by Charles Dickens

I have great expectations (ha – Dickens pun) for this book but it’s also incredibly long, so it’s gotten pushed to the bottom of my TBR pile on more than one occasion. I’ve started reading it more times than I can count, only to get distracted when something a little smaller (and easier to read) comes along.

 

 

Feel free to keep this tag going if you’d like to! It made me go through my TBR pile and I rediscovered some books I’d forgotten about, so it’s definitely worth it! And happy Thursday!

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

7 thoughts on “Intimidating TBR Tag

Leave a Reply

