Harry Potter (HBD & the Cursed Child)

Happy (belated) birthday Harry Potter (and J.K. Rowling)!

Yesterday, to celebrate the big day and the release of The Cursed Child, I decided I’d make butterbeer and marathon my favourite movies of the series! And today, I picked up a copy of the book!

What an interesting experience. For the butterbeer, I set out on what was potentially the weirdest grocery shop of my life (the cashier actually gave me a look): 2 bottles of cream soda, half a litre of whipping cream, a jar of butterscotch spread, and a massive grapefruit (which is unrelated – I just really like grapefruit).

In the end, the butterbeer was terrible. The combination of too much sugar and my high expectations probably made it one of the worst things I’ve ever tasted in my life. But I guess it’s the thought that counts, right? Sorry, Harry.

16fd93517c1952be_harry-potter-butterbeer.xxxlarge
I just didn’t quite get the signature Hermione ‘stache effect I was going for…

I also watched all my favourite Potter movies: Prisoner of Azkaban, Goblet of Fire, Half-Blood Prince, and The Deathly Hallows (I could only fit in part one, but still I consider this to be somewhat of an achievement because you know, they’re long).

As for picking up a copy of The Cursed Child, well – I’m not really much of a waiting-in-line person, so I opted to go this morning rather than midnight Saturday or yesterday.

And am I ever glad I did! There were no lines, and I even got a free tote bag!

IMG_2443

I can’t wait to read it! I’ll be posting my review this upcoming Sunday. Until then, I’ll leave you with this bookish quote I’d forgotten about that tugs on my heartstrings:

“Of course it is happening inside your head, Harry, but why on earth should that mean that it is not real?”

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

4 thoughts on “Harry Potter (HBD & the Cursed Child)

Leave a Reply

