The Shuffle Book Tag

Music + Books? Basically two of my favourite things. Thanks to Lauren @ commahangover for tagging me! I had so much fun doing this, and my iTunes library actually refrained from embarrassing me *phew*

Rules:

  1. Thank the person who nominated you, and provide a link to their post
  2. Shuffle your iTunes library, google play music library, or whatever you’ve got
  3. For each song that comes on, list the song and the artist, and name a book it makes you think of, explaining why. (You can do this as many or as few as you want, I’m not going to set a number. This is a low pressure tag. Whoever we are, we’re pretty laid back.)
  4. Tag however many people you want, or everyone

 

Just a warning: this ended up being slightly spoilery for John Green’s Looking for Alaska, as well as Maggie Steifvater’s The Raven King. Just so you know. I mean how horrible would it be to have those two wonderful books ruined for you because you decided to read a book tag by silly old me?

Also, for the formatting, clicking on an image will take you to the Youtube video of the song, and the title of the book will take you to that book’s Goodreads page.

1. All Is Well (Goodbye, Goodbye) – Radical Face

shuffle1

-> Looking for Alaska, by John Green

I’ve listened to this song so many times (Radical Face is one of my favourite artists) and I’ve never made this connection, but once I did, it made total sense! (Here’s the spoilery bit) I feel like it describes Mile’s perspective after, ahem. You know. And the “plans and crimes” is like the pranks in my mind!

  • “And I have lost your face / It slips between my fingers now / And all the world is gray / As though you took the colors with you / When you went and passed away”
  • “So I collected all our plans and crimes / And set them all alight”

2. The Chambers & the Valves – Dry the River

shuffle2

-> Magonia, by Maria Dahvana Headley

This book has stuck with me so much since I read it, so I figured at least one song would likely remind me of it. The bit about the “chambers and the valves that pump the sentiment around” and “I pray for your health” could be seen from Jason’s perspective, while the “every constellation above us has a counterpart below” reminded me of when Aza was in the sky and Jason was on the ground.

  • “Two young hearts will meet in the middle, / And a light will flicker on, where there once was none”
  • “I could write this down, I could turn this car around / In the land of mistakes I should lay my crosses down / And I pray for your health, and I tell myself / ‘It’s the chambers and the valves that pump the sentiment around’ / But I swallow the words I and close my mouth”
  • “If every constellation above us has a counterpart below, / How are we to know, dear? How are we to know?”

3. The Calendar – Panic! at the Disco

shuffle3

-> The Raven King, by Maggie Steifvater

Another book I read recently that’s sticking with me, and another song I’ve heard so many times but never really thought to make the connection with a book – THIS IS SPOILERY – this song reminded me of the end of the book, when it goes “He was a book, and he was holding his final pages, and he wanted to get to the end to find out how it went, and he didn’t want it to be over”. And you know, Gansey comes back to life, so that’s out there. And he was obsessed with Glendower… Yeah.

  • “Summer’s on its deathbed / There is simply nothing worse than knowing how it ends … / I will come back to life”
  • “Don’t wanna call it a second chance / But when I came back, it was more of a relapse / Anticipation’s on the other line / An obsession called while you were out”
  • “You said if you don’t let it out / You’re gonna let it eat you away”

4. Human – Daughter

shuffle4

-> Wild Seed, by Octavia E. Butler

I love this book. Love love love this book. It’s so different from what I usually read, but it was such a good story, and it’s not very well known, so I’ll promote it whenever I can. The main character is ambiguously human, so I thought this song fit with it perfectly. Also, at one point she becomes a dolphin. What. What? Read it!

  • “Underneath the skin there’s a human / Buried deep within there’s a human / And despite everything I’m still human / But I think I’m dying here”
  • “Take me out of this place I’m in / Break me out of this shell-like case I’m in”

5. Love, Love, Love – Of Monsters and Men

shuffle5

-> Clockwork Angel, by Cassandra Clare 

*Cries forever* Will Herondale and Tessa Gray will forever hold a piece of my heart. Enough said.

  • “You love, love, love / When you know I can’t love you / So I think it’s best we both forget before we dwell on it”
  • “And those bright blue eyes / Can only meet mine across the room filled with people that are less important than you”

 

I thought five was a good number, but really, you could go on forever! This was such a fun challenge! And I must say, I’m relatively proud of the way my shuffle button behaved itself. *pats iTunes library affectionately*

I tag anyone who has listened to any of these songs or read any of these books before!

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

15 thoughts on “The Shuffle Book Tag

  1. This is awesome! I have discovered new music that I should check out and I have grown my TBR pile! I am glad you enjoyed doing this book tag! I honestly, want to do it again in a few months time.

    Like

Leave a Reply

