My Bookish Girl Squad

I’m doing something a bit different today! I saw this idea on Sanne’s (booksandquills on Youtube) channel, and I got inspired! I love it because you could literally make up whatever kind of squad you want, and of course I’m always up for a little character analysis!

The fictional bookish girl squad consists of:

  1. Someone who will force you to go out when you want to stay in
  2. Someone who will have your back
  3. Someone who will help you move
  4. Someone who you can share your problems with, a listening ear
  5. Someone to gossip with
  6. Someone to go on holiday with
  7. Someone to hang out with quietly

I’m pretty proud of my list! Although now I’m also sad that it’s fictional and none of these people are real. *sobs*

I’m also taking this opportunity to showcase some great character art! Click the images to be taken to each artists’ website!

1. Someone who will force you to go out when you want to stay in

~~~ Alaska Young ~~~

Looking for Alaska

tumblr_o731q3RGtj1sth0yfo1_1280
Image from @Helena Soto (click image to visit artist’s instagram)

Alaska inspires Pudge to do things outside of his comfort zone, and that’s just the kind of friend I usually need to poke me until I agree to go out when I (oh so often) just want to stay in. Friends like that are important. If you’re not an introvert, and you push your introvert friends to come out and have fun, know that we appreciate it, no matter how much it seems otherwise in the moment!

2. Someone who will have your back

~~~ Lila Bard ~~~

Shades of Magic

lilabard2
Image from @Victoria Ying (click image to visit artist’s instagram)

Lila doesn’t have a lot of people in her life that she cares about, but that only means that the few who she does care for get that much more love. She may not be known for her loyalty, but I get the feeling that if you did manage to earn it, it would be fierce and lasting. Plus, with all those knives, if she had my back, I’m sure it would be safe as houses.

3. Someone who will help you move

~~~ Celia Bowen ~~~

The Night Circus

tumblr_ncvkzh809D1rb2vfpo1_500
Image from @tulanoodle (click image to visit artist’s tumblr)

Maybe this is a bit of a long shot, because it’s been forever since I read The Night Circus, but I figure Celia moves around a lot what with her dad traveling for work and then later she travels with Le Cirque des Rêves. Or, you know, she could just use her magic to pack and move all my stuff and then we could grab pizza and probably go see a show with all the time we’d have left over.

4. Someone who you can share your problems with, a listening ear

~~~ Tessa Gray ~~~

The Infernal Devices

original.png
Image from @herondair (I think – blog is inactive, no click through link on image)

I always found Tessa to be a very empathetic character and she also often acts as a voice of reason in TID, so I feel like she would be a good listener. Also, this would pretty much be my role in the group, and I think if I were to pick any of these characters, she’s the one I’m most like, so it makes sense!

5. Someone to gossip with:

~~~ Jordan Baker ~~~

The Great Gatsby

jordan_baker_by_jeixonx-d7p65ir
Image from @jeixonx (click image to visit artist’s deviantart)

I’m not much of a gossiper, but if I had to pick one for a friend, it’d be Jordan Baker. I’ve always loved her as a character. She’s complex, and she’s dishonest (who isn’t in Gatsby, though?), but I think she’s grounded enough that she’s able to see the problems with the world she lives in, which manifests in her cynicism. Plus it seems like she knows everyone, so she’d probably know all the juicy stuff!

6. Someone to go on holiday with

~~~ Blue Sargent ~~~

The Raven Cycle

tumblr_o78jfkmrLD1r5td1wo1_r1_1280.png
Image from @dasstark (click image to visit artist’s tumblr)

Blue is the ideal travel buddy. She’d want to go see all the things that I would when on a holiday, and her curiosity and desire to help people would probably make for a really fulfilling travel experience!

What do I do?” Blue asked cannily. “What have you guys seen me doing?
Traveling,” Maura replied. “Changing the world.
Trees in your eyes,” Calla added more gently than usual. “Stars in your heart.”

7. Someone to hang out with quietly

~~~ Hermione Granger ~~~

Harry Potter

tumblr_ngl05kj9JK1qgq3eio1_1280
Image from @lilabeanz (click image to visit artist’s tumblr)

My ideal hangout with Hermione would be the two of us sitting in a cozy room with lots of blankets and fluffy pillows and tea, with both of us reading our own books, and every once in a while looking up to read out quotes to each other. People who can read their book while you read your book in the same room are my favourite kind of people.

And that’s my squad! I quite like how it turned out. Now I’m just sad that it’s not real though – oh well; the downsides of all your favourites being fictional I guess. Doing this has made me try to consider which of my real friends would fit into these roles, and I think I’ve actually got a pretty well balanced group going on!

Anyone who wants to keep this going should feel free to! I’d be interested to see if any of you end up making a different kind of squad – if so, let me know so I can read it!

As always, happy Friday!

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

5 thoughts on “My Bookish Girl Squad

Leave a Reply

