The Liebster Award

Thank you to Jasmine @ howusefulitis and Charlie @ inkwellsandbooksmells for tagging/nominating me! I’m pretty late on doing this but better late than never, I guess. And make sure to check out both of these awesome blogs!

Instead of making two posts out of the two nominations (and their respective questions) I’ve smushed the questions together, and answered those I had the best responses to!

THE RULES:

  • Thank the person who nominated you and post a link to their blog!
  • Display the award on your blog. You can save the image and upload it to your blog post and/or put it as a widget on your blog!
  • Give 10 random facts about yourself.
  • Nominate 5-10 blogs you admire and have under 200 followers.
    • I’m not going to nominate anyone because I’ve seen this done so many times already, and anybody I would tag has probably already done it! That said, if you’d like to do this, I nominate YOU! I guess just take your pick of 10 from the questions I was asked here. 
  • Post your answers of the questions given to you by the person who nominated you.
  • List these rules in your post.
  • Ask your nominees 10 questions after tagging them in the post.
Warning: This is a looooong post. Bear with me here.

10 Random Facts About Me:

  1. I played competitive soccer for like 10+ years (talk about random)
  2. I will only eat vegetarian sushi (bad experience, don’t want to talk about it *gags*)
  3. I love documentaries, no matter what they’re about (though I really like ones about space. I will literally drop everything to watch a space documentary)
  4. I actually like Fall/Winter more than Spring/Summer *starts singing Sweater Weather*
  5. I’m pretty much obsessed with Icelandic culture (the language, the nature, the history, the people, the music, the EVERYTHING)
  6. I cannot watch horror movies. I think in my entire life I’ve seen three horror movies, if that many. I turn into a useless lump of a human and have nightmares for months afterward. So, no thank you. My overactive imagination has too much fun with them.
  7. I really really really love trees. I actually cannot explain the magnitude of how much I love them. Basically, if I could be reincarnated as something when I die, I would want it to be a tree.
  8. I wholeheartedly believe in the MBTI test – I’m an INFJ, and I swear, I’ve learned so much about myself (and other people, for that matter) from reading about the types.
  9. I’m a walking dictionary (according to my mum, lol)
  10. I’ve got a bit of a reputation in my family for being the ideal jury duty type – I’ll call people out whenever they say something derogatory or judgemental, and I’ll defend other people like it’s my job.

Jasmine & Charlie’s (combined) Questions:

What do you like about reading?

Disappearing into another world for a while – which is probably why I love the fantasy/sci-fi genres so much. Anything is possible. *twirls* 

Where is your favourite place to read?

MY BED. Really it’s the comfiest place in my room. I also really love reading at the beach, but let’s be honest, my bed’s a little more accessible than the beach.

tumblr_m48sqebebg1qinpy7o1_500

What do you like in your book characters?

I like complexity, and I like being able to empathize with their actions, even if those actions make them antagonists. I like slowly getting hints at why they are the way they are. I’m a big fan of character-driven stories, so this is important to me!

Do you prefer standalone books or series?

Series! I get way too attached to characters and want them to stick around for as long as possible, so even though I appreciate a well-written standalone, I’ll always be greedy for more.

Do you read before you watch a movie or watch a movie before you read?

If I watch the movie before I’ve read it, I’ll never read it! I still haven’t seen The Book Thief because I unintentionally stopped reading it halfway through when my life suddenly became busy (I think I’d just started uni) and never quite got back to it. I also really love Geoffrey Rush, so this deeply pains me.

Do you have a life outside of books?

Yes! Kind of. Maybe? A lot of the things I do revolve around books, so maybe not. My job is about books, my studying is about books, my spare time is mostly about books. My room is stocked to the brim with books. Okay, I’m not really selling it here.

dont_you_ever_do_anything_besides_read_someecards

I mean, I’m also pretty athletic and I love art and history and my family and traveling…In summary, yes. I do. Kind of. Let’s change the subject, shall we?

What is your second language, if any?

I don’t technically have a second language *sigh* but I’m Canadian so I grew up with French and have retained a little of that, though I hope to improve on it soon!

Do you book shop by yourself or with a buddy?

It takes the right kind of person to be able to book shop with me. I take literally forever. There are probably only two people I know that would be up for the challenge, so I usually fly solo.

Are you a writer as well as a reader?

Yes! It’s my goal to one day become an actual writer, but I think right now my writing still needs a lot of work. Until then I’m working on submitting poems to some lit magazines/contests, writing the book I’ve been working on for the past 6 years, and reading as much as I can! I firmly believe that a good writer is also a good reader!

What do you like about blogging?

It lets me talk about things I’m passionate about, without the pressure of anyone critiquing my writing like in school! And I get to meet all kinds of awesome people who are interested in the same things I am! I also really enjoy having a little corner of the internet where I get to make my own content! It’s all basically 10/10, would definitely recommend.

blogging-spock-funny-blogging-meme

Have you read any biographies ever?

I organized a uni course based on biography/autobiography this past year so the answer to this question is fresh on my mind: YES. I love biographies, especially when they’re about people I admire. I also really love reading autobiographies and memoirs!

Have you ever been to a book signing or a book event?

Yes! My university puts on this series of author readings every Fall semester and I volunteered with it last year, so I’ve been to quite a few, though the authors were all lesser known. The only book I actually bought/got signed at an event was Us Conductors by Sean Michaels, which I’m actually reading right now! (It. Is. So. Good.) Alas, I once missed Maggie Steifvater giving a talk at my local bookstore and I’ve regretted that ever since.

Do you buy books based on reviews from other people or make your own decisions?

I usually check out a book’s reviews beforehand if I’m not positive about it, which is why I bother to write reviews at all! I always hope that my opinion can help someone else make their own opinion, though, after all, it’s just an opinion! Everyone should read what they want, I think reviews just help people sort out things that sell themselves differently than they deliver.

Do you have an e-reader and if so do you like and use it?

I do, but I also don’t. I inherited a kobo mini from my brother when he got bored with it, but I also lost the charging cable, so I haven’t used it in about a year and a half. If I really need to read an ebook, I’ll download it onto my iPad.

What book was the biggest highlight of this year?

The Darker Shades of Magic series! Best fantasy series I’ve come across in a while.

 

That’s it! Thanks for the nominations, sorry for the incredibly long post, feel free to complete the tag yourself if you haven’t already and if you actually bothered to read all of this! I had a lot of fun answering some of these questions! Happy Monday!

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

2 thoughts on “The Liebster Award

  1. I like reading your facts & answers! I also like to watch documentaries and I am amazed by the cosmos and Stephen Hawkins. I on the other hand like spring and summer because the colors are bright and light and warm. I don’t like wearing sweaters much hehe

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Fall/Winter lover, yay! 🙂 I can’t wait for the heat to go away! Also, French! Baaaah! I’m French and I need to study French grammar again to fully understand English grammar, because there is so much I have forgotten. Let me tell you, French grammar sucks for French people too, haha!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

