The Wine Book Tag

I wasn’t tagged by anyone to do this, but I love wine and I love books and well, it was bound to happen at some point!

1. Box Wine: A book that people will judge you for liking but you like anyway

julie_kagawa-theironkingI love that this question is first, here’s me raising up my guilty pleasures for all to see. I chose The Iron King by Julie Kagawa for this one – I actually re-read the Iron Fey series earlier this year when I wanted to read something I knew would be light and filled with lovable bits at the same time.

I really love the characters and the world-building, even though the writing might be kind of sloppy and the main character whines a lot, I still like it.

2. Organic Wine: A book that has no added crap in it and is just written perfectly

a3080d42ba74178feaedd96edad25f3e

Not a book, okay, okay, but Ezra Pound’s “In A Station of the Metro” is the epitome of no-crap poetry. I remember being taught about Pound in a poetry class a few years ago, and apparently this poem began as a bunch of lines, and he (as my then prof described it) sculpted away all the excess until he was left with the simplest way of saying what he wanted to say. I think it’s quite beautiful.

3. Gluhwein: A spicy, wintry readTheNightCircus

The Night Circus just strikes me as one of those books you could happily sit and read on a snowy Sunday. It’s filled with lots of life and keeps you on your toes!

4. Sauignon Blanc: A really sharp and aggressive read that you cou
ldn’t put downScreen-Shot-2015-11-03-at-3.16.04-PM

Reading Maggie Steifvater’s The Raven King was like being torn apart. I was at once both hyper-aware that it was the last book in the series and I’d have to be saying goodbye to the characters at the end of the book, and wrapped up in the new adventures and the chaos that comes with something ending. To incorrectly quote T.S. Eliot, it went out with a bang.

5. Pinot Noir: A book you didn’t expect much of, but ended up being blown away

britishAs you’ll gather from the review I posted this past Sunday, I was so pleasantly surprised by Sean Michael’s Us Conductors. Although I’d already bought a copy of it and had it signed (long story), I actually started reading it when I saw it in the library one day while I was trying to kill some time (“as if you could kill time without injuring eternity,” Emma) and ended up being hooked. Now I couldn’t be happier that I have a signed copy sitting on my bookshelf!

6. Chardonnay: A good summer read that was super zesty

2363667I’m not the best at ‘summer’ or ‘zesty’ reading, and honestly the closest thing I could think of was Love’s Labour’s Lost which I actually read last winter which I think could be a fun and quick read, that’s absolutely got a lot of kick to it (or at least the characters).

7. Rose: A book that has a little bit of everything in it

77013This might be a strange choice, but Faulkner’s As I Lay Dying goes in so many directions your head swirls as you read it. It’s impossible to see all of the different storylines going on at once, so if you re-read it, you’ll see something new every time.

8. Shiraz: A full-bodied book that is dark and juicy

thegreatgatsby_1925jacketYou can fight me on this, but I honestly think that The Great Gatsby is one of the darkest books I’ve read. When you get past the glamour a lot of people focus on when they read it, what’s left isn’t very pretty to look at, but offers up an incredibly rich moral message.

9. Merlot: A smooth and easy read with a soft finish

92ae428e6041385cbba777a277cab569Will I ever stop talking about Mrs. Dalloway?  No, no I will not. This book is at once a rollercoaster and so easy to read. And the revelations made at the end are so incredibly quiet that you have to really be listening to catch them.

Side note: Merlot is my favourite wine!

10. Champagne: Your favourite book

tumblr_nn6uo4p16a1ru72puo1_400

Please don’t ask me this question.

 

 

 

 

I tag:

  • YOU

 

Happy Saturday!

 

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

9 thoughts on “The Wine Book Tag

Leave a Reply

