NaNoWriMo & Fall Bookish Bingo Update

Hello all! I hope everyone’s well and happy and as lovely as ever!

This is just to say that against my better judgement, I’ve signed up for NaNoWriMo, after years of yearning for free time in November (which I fondly refer to as the Hell Month whilst I’m a full-time student).

tumblr_nd6q6vcdzg1svb9jto1_250
This is basically all of my friends right now until the end of November 

I’m part-time in school right now for health reasons, and while that means I probably shouldn’t be taking on additional sources of potential stress, let me tell you: I’m bored as hell. This blog is one outlet, my writing is another. And I write regardless of whether I actually have the time, so I might as well try to be a bit more disciplined about it (I even made a little overly-pretentious cover, lol).

The book I’ll be working on is one I’ve been writing for the last six years. Yes, yes, I know, how have I not finished it already?! Interestingly enough, I’ve found that as I’ve grown (particularly over the last three years), it’s grown with me. And now, it’s something that’s so a part of me, I’ll never release it into the world until I’m sure it’s the best it can be. The plot’s changed more times than I can count, characters have been added and cut, and I’m always working on the world-building. My writing is always improving, and I take comfort in that.

Thing is, I have no idea how NaNoWriMo works, and even though I’ve read all the things there is to read, I’d love to hear any advice anyone who’s reading this might have! If you’d like to be my writing buddy (and stumble through November with me, lol), my profile is here!

tumblr_nikfngveoo1s3h43ko1_500

tumblr_np47wtonmo1u17yx1o1_500

 

In other news, I’ve got two more books to add to my Fall Bookish Bingo card!

I read The Universe of Us by Lang Leav last week (read my review here!), and I just finished An Ember in the Ashes last night (slash 1AM if I’m being honest).

autumn2016up3

The Universe of Us covered the ‘Fall Release’ square, and I decided that An Ember in the Ashes could have been either the ‘Killers’ or ‘Retelling’ square (because it’s inspired by Ancient Rome) but I settled for ‘Killers’. Anyway. I almost have a Bingo!

Are you participating in NaNoWriMo? Have any advice? How’s your Fall Bookish Bingo going? Let me know! And happy Thursday to everyone!

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

22 thoughts on “NaNoWriMo & Fall Bookish Bingo Update

  1. I added you as my buddy! My username is DaydreamingBooks.
    All the very best for your novel, I hope it turns out super awesome! Btw, is it your first time participating in NaNoWriMo?

    It’s my first time and I’m going to be using the reverse NaNo technique that I found out about a few days ago, it might just be the only way I can finish my novel or reach a good number of word count by the end of the month!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I don’t understand the book bingo and I was planning on joining Nanowrimo but I don’t think I have the right mind space for it this year 😦 good luck and I hope you accomplish over 50k words and finish your story!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. The book bingo is just crossing off a square for every book that matches its theme! So for An Ember in the Ashes, which has a ‘killers’ theme, I crossed off that square, and then it’s just like normal bingo! And that’s why I’ve always refrained from partaking in NaNoWriMo – it’s definitely a commitment. Thank you though! 😄I hope you get to do it one day!

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

