Prologue

Welcome back from my blogging-hiatus (AKA, an entire semester of school) – I bet you thought you’d seen the last of me!

giphy

Well, in a way, you have. Because ~drumroll~

I’m changing the blog.

I know, I know.

giphy2

Well, let me explain. I realized a while ago that my blogging-slump was largely due to one thing: I was starting to feel like I was making things in a bubble. Now, in a sense, I knew that when I made this blog, I wanted a means of escape (like books, duh, Emma). I knew that the world had its problems, but being privileged in more ways than one, I could often afford to look the other way, make fluffy posts, and be content with that.

In January, my eyes were forced open. What with so many global-scale events going on, and a lot of it close to home, I realized that the things I was dedicating so much of my time to weren’t helping affect any actual change. It seemed so weird to me that we could switch from talking about real-world tragedies to menial “first-world-problems” in the same breath. And my own contribution to it sickened me a little.

Now, I’m not saying by any means that having these places of escape is a bad thing. In fact, I think they’re necessary. Sometimes I just want to talk about books, or fictional characters, or things that are as far away from reality as possible. Please know that I’m not setting out to criticize the way anyone runs their blog, or writes their posts, or lives their lives. This is about me, and how I became unhappy with what I was posting.

My last two posts were fairly world-conscious, and when I realized that I was proud of that, I just knew it wouldn’t feel right to go back to posting without that consciousness. I needed to find some way to balance posting about the things I love with posting about things that hold relevance to what matters. I’m not saying I’m becoming a social justice warrior or that I’ll be posting about activism all the time, but rather, that I’ll continue making and talking about creative things while also keeping the larger issues in mind. I’m not going to feel like I’m in a bubble anymore. I want to get back to originality and creativity and embracing the things I’m passionate about on this blog.

Enter, stage right: my love of stories.

As we all well know, books are one of the best ways of storytelling, but they’re not the only way. There are so many different means of telling stories, both fictional and non-fictional, and I want to talk about the ones that inspire me.

So I’ll still be doing things like book reviews and posts about books, authors, and publishing, but I’ll also be doing things like film and tv show reviews, talking about music and art, starting conversations about different ways of storytelling, sharing with you the narratives that I find inspiring, that change how we come to know stories, and how we know our world.

I’ll also be sharing my story with you. Whether it’s through travel posts (I’m going to Iceland in a little over a week!), observations of what’s going on in the world, or even visually through photography and art (slowly getting back into visual art btw), I’ll be telling my story on this blog. And I’m so excited! I hope you are too. That said, if you followed me strictly as a book-blog, and you think this is where our story ends, I absolutely understand. I wish you well! As for those who think they’ll stick around, I’m so excited to start this next chapter with you! After all, this is only the beginning.

giphy3

Posted by

I'm Emma Kath. Welcome to my blog! This is where I post my original book reviews, litstyle (lifestyle for the lit-nerd), and other bookish things. A little about me: I'm Canadian, and currently a student majoring in English lit and cultural studies. I'm an introvert (INFJ, if you believe in that sort of thing), sarcastic to the bone, I love art and history, and hope to one day travel around a bit. Until then, I'll be reading, writing, and trying to spread a little kindness around the internet. If you have any questions or inquiries, feel free to contact me!

3 thoughts on “Prologue

  1. Welcome back Emma! + Such a great post!! 🙂
    “As we all well know, books are one of the best ways of storytelling, but they’re not the only way. ”
    So true!! Can’t wait to see what new posts you come up with!

    Like

  2. I’m so glad your back! I’m excited for your activism posts, and your trip to Iceland sounds incredible. I can’t wait to read about how you explore storytelling and voices in these challenging times.<3

    Like

Leave a Reply

